AGFUND: Several Grants for Different Types of NGOs working on Developmental Projects

Deadline: 30 November 2018

The Arab Gulf Programme for Development’s (AGFUND) “International Prize for Pioneering Human Development Projects 2018” provides several grants to different types of NGOs working on human development projects.

AGFUND: Several Grants for Different Types of NGOs working on Developmental Projects

Grants between US $100,000 to US $1 million are offered on an annual basis under this Prize to international/regional NGOs, local and national NGOs, government organizations or social business enterprises and also for projects implemented by individuals.

The aim of the Prize is to encourage innovation and creativity in human development work. The overall objective behind the Prize idea is to contribute to the efforts aiming to achieve sustainability in development and investment in people.

AGFUND Prize is considered to be the first initiative of its kind to identify successful development projects, reward them and disseminate their innovative ideas to best contribute to the improvement of development work.

It is also an innovative approach and a strategic instrument to exchange successful experiences to strengthen the mechanisms of development cooperation and project funding with special emphasis on the most prominent factors that militate against development and affect the vulnerable groups, particularly women and children in developing countries.

These include poverty, social exclusion, socio-economic marginalization, education and health.

The objectives of this Prize are:

1- Support the distinguished efforts aiming at the promotion and development of the concepts and dimensions of human development.

2- Disseminate the successful project experiences.

3-Highlight the best practices, which aim to improve the living conditions of the poor and disadvantaged with particular emphasis on women and children.

4- Enhance the exchange of experiences and develop better mechanisms to find solutions to the problems of poverty, marginalization and socioeconomic exclusion of vulnerable groups.

The AGFUND Prize Carries:

a) Cash amount of US $1,000,000 (one million) distributed as follows:

First category: US $400,000
Second category: US $300,000
Third category: US $200,000
Fourth category: US $100,000

b) Certificates of Recognition and trophies (to be presented to all winners).

AGFUND Prize is consisted of four categories:

First Category:

Projects that are funded, designed and implemented by UN Development Agencies or international and regional NGOs.

Second Category:

Projects that are funded designed and implemented by national NGOs.

Third Category:

Projects that are funded designed and implemented by government ministries and public institutions or social business enterprises.

Fourth Category:

Projects that are initiated, funded and/or implemented by individuals.

Thematic Focus

Each year, the Prize Committee selects the thematic focus for the Prize, taking into account the diversity and non-repetitive themes.

The objective is to highlight the innovative experiences and to continuously support the distinguished efforts in various field of development.

The Prize themes always focus on increasing the knowledge in the field of human development and its proper management.

In its meeting held in Geneva on 19 April 2017, the Prize Committee decided to align the Prize subjects with the Sustainable Development Goals 2030 as adopted by the International Community.

Evaluation Process

The nominated projects are evaluated by an International team of experts selected on the basis of their international experience development projects evaluation, their thorough knowledge in the theme of the Prize for the year and indeed for their objectivity and fair assessment.

The composition of this team may vary each year, depending on the thematic focus selected for each year.

Eligible nominations of all categories are evaluated according to specific criteria based on elements of creativity in the project, the efficiency and effectiveness of its management as well as on its impact.

In addition, the evaluation shall be conducted on the basis of the information provided in the Nomination Form, all supporting documents and field visits to the project site if needed

Evaluation Criteria

1. The following criteria shall be applied to projects that are nominated for AGFUND International Prize:Innovative ways in which the project meets AGFUND mission, values and objectives.

2. The quality of the project design to achieve its specific objectives.

3. The degree of the project relevance to the Prize subject and the extent to which it contributes to the achievement of the SDG set as subject for the Prize.

4. The project impact in terms of quality of services provided, and the new ideas and information forwarded.

5. The accessibility for the targeted beneficiaries to reach the services and benefits of the project.

6. Project replicability or adaptability in other areas/ countries.

7. The efficiency in financial management and the use of resources.

8. The attainment of project objectives.

9. The sustainability of the projectĺs activities, benefits and services.

10. The environmental and social impact.

To apply and submit nomination for the Prize, visit this link.

Other Grants of interest: